IWU BSN-to-DNP, FNP specialization: clinical courses, 1,000 hours and residencies
IWU's BSN-to-DNP with the Family Nurse Practitioner specialization takes a BSN-prepared RN to a Doctor of Nursing Practice in roughly four years. It requires at least 1,000 graduate practicum hours, built through five FNP clinical courses and the DNP project courses, plus onsite residencies that IWU's catalog and web page count differently.
Plan your DNP clinical years
Tell us your community and your next DNP clinical course.

Program shape: credits, length and delivery
The catalog title is Bachelor to Doctor of Nursing Practice, Major in Nursing Practice, Specialization in Family Nurse Practitioner (BSN to DNP). It lists 73 to 77 credits: 33 to 37 in nursing practice courses and 40 in the FNP courses. IWU's program record and web page both say 76.
Length depends on which IWU source you read. The web page describes a lock-step program of about 48 months with a 78-month maximum. The catalog text says about 51 months, but that sentence is labeled "PMHNP" on the FNP page, which looks like a copy error.
Delivery mixes onsite residencies, onsite workshops and interactive online workshops. The catalog is strict about attendance: a student who misses two or more workshops in an NP practicum course receives an F. CCNE accredits IWU's DNP program. Graduates are eligible to apply for FNP certification.
Residencies: four or three
The catalog calls for four onsite residencies, with the DNP project claiming three and FNP education one. IWU's BSN-to-DNP web page has three, tied to orientation, proposing your project and presenting it at the end. Plan around the catalog's four until your faculty confirm otherwise, since an extra trip is easier to cancel than to add.
IWU's Systems Leadership DNP page places its residencies on the Marion, Indiana campus. Confirm dates and location for your own cohort early, especially if you work shifts or have a preceptor schedule to protect. Travel is on you, per the catalog's policy on Nursing Practice Experience Costs, which leaves any cost tied to practice experiences with the student. Marion residencies compares the onsite requirements across IWU programs.
A transcultural healthcare experience is also required. In the catalog's course list, DNP-835 Healthcare Across Cultures carries a regional practicum for both BSN-to-DNP tracks.
The FNP clinical courses and the DNP project courses
The FNP clinical courses mirror the MSN's PYC titles under DNP numbers. The catalog requires supervised clinical experiences in each but publishes no hours per course. DNP-702, DNP-712 and DNP-714 (role, pharmacology and pathophysiology) have no clinical component.
| Course | Title | Credits | Practicum |
|---|---|---|---|
DNP-760 | Advanced Health Assessment | 6 | Supervised clinical |
DNP-770 | Foundations for Primary Care Practice | 5 | Supervised clinical |
DNP-781 | Primary Care Across the Lifespan I | 6 | Supervised clinical |
DNP-782 | Primary Care Across the Lifespan II | 6 | Supervised clinical |
DNP-783 | Primary Care Across the Lifespan III | 6 | Supervised clinical |
DNP-810 | Assessment and Planning for Evidence-Based Practice | 5 | In the practice setting; formal project proposal |
DNP-811 | The Implementation of Evidence-Based Practice | 3-4 | With a mentor; implementation and regulatory approvals |
DNP-812 | Evaluation, Sustainability, and Dissemination of Evidence-Based Practice | 5 | Project course ending in public dissemination |
DNP-835 | Healthcare Across Cultures | 1 | Regional practicum |
DNP-840 | Advanced Nursing Practice Roles | 1-4 | Direct mentorship |
IWU's web pages still list DNP-740, DNP-750, DNP-795 and DNP-820. None of those appear in the 2026-27 program requirements, so trust the catalog list above and your degree plan.
How the 1,000 hours build up
IWU says BSN-to-DNP hours accumulate across the program. They come from the clinical hours assigned to specific courses and from work and projects that faculty approve. Course faculty or the designated academic leader approve them, and IWU's web page also names the Dean of the Division of Doctoral Programs in that role; who does what at IWU maps those roles.
The detailed counting rules sit in the DNP Project Manual and the NP Clinical Guidelines, neither of which is public. Read both as soon as you have access, and keep your own running total per course.
Transfer credit cannot replace any practicum course: NP practicum courses, graduate health assessment, health policy, cultural healthcare and the DNP project courses must all be taken at IWU. The MSN FNP's 800-encounter minimum is not stated in the BSN-to-DNP catalog entry, so ask faculty whether encounter targets apply. The DNP 1,000-hour rule goes further into the counting.
Keep a per-course hours record from your first DNP clinical; the manuals that define the count are not public.
Preceptors, mentors and approval
For the FNP clinical courses, IWU's NP rule applies: "Students are responsible for securing clinical sites and preceptors." You identify candidates with program faculty and send in the paperwork; the university then vets each site and preceptor and signs off before any hours count. IWU describes FNP rotations as primary care and outpatient work across the lifespan, with most hours in primary care, and that is the profile to search for.
The project courses work differently. DNP-811 runs with a mentor and DNP-840 with direct mentorship, and IWU does not state who arranges those settings, so ask faculty early how your project site and mentor are chosen.
Compliance comes first. Before the first practicum you complete a drug screen, and the catalog lists TB, rubella and hepatitis B status for this program, and IWU's catalog also sets a second criminal background check for APRN students before clinicals. IWU's recent catalogs put approvals and compliance items in Medatrax, with a second-week deadline in each practicum course; see background check and drug screen.
Admission, license and state rules
- A BSN earned at a program accredited by CCNE, ACEN or CNEA, with a 3.25 undergraduate GPA
- An unencumbered RN license, a CV and a 2-3 page narrative
- No RN experience-hours minimum stated in the catalog, unlike the MSN tracks' 500-hour rule
- RN licensure, active and unencumbered, in each state that hosts a practicum site of yours
IWU's 2022 disclosure for the BSN-to-DNP FNP judges the curriculum sufficient for all 50 states, adding notes on extra steps in New Hampshire, New York and Rhode Island. An older 2020 version, still linked on the same IWU page, lists only Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, Illinois and Michigan; rely on the newer document and ask IWU if your state is in doubt. Exceptions to BSN-to-DNP policy rest finally with the Student Life Council.
Why BSN-to-DNP FNP students choose us
Four years of doctoral study means five FNP clinical courses and several project settings, and we plan them with you as one timeline instead of one emergency at a time. We find primary care preceptors in your community for each DNP-760 to DNP-783 course and compile each preceptor's credentials, licensure proof and practice details for IWU's review. IWU makes the approval decision; our part is sending a file that is complete and fits IWU's rules the first time. If a preceptor drops mid-course, we are on the replacement at once; see how it works.
Questions IWU students ask
How many clinical hours does IWU's BSN-to-DNP FNP require?
At least 1,000 graduate practicum hours, accumulated across the program from course clinical hours and faculty-approved work. IWU does not publish hours for individual FNP clinical courses, and the counting rules live in the DNP Project Manual and NP Clinical Guidelines, so check both before your first clinical.
How many residencies are in IWU's BSN-to-DNP FNP?
IWU's sources disagree. The catalog counts four onsite residencies, of which the DNP project accounts for three and FNP education for one. The web page counts three, covering orientation, your proposal and the closing presentation. Ask faculty for your cohort's schedule and plan for four until they confirm.
Can transfer credit reduce my BSN-to-DNP practicum load?
The catalog says no for practicum courses. Transferred credit cannot cover NP practicum courses, graduate health assessment, health policy, cultural healthcare or DNP project courses. Ask admissions about any other course you hope to transfer; every clinical course in the FNP sequence is taken at IWU.
What happens if I miss a workshop in a BSN-to-DNP practicum course?
Per the catalog, two or more missed workshops in an NP practicum course mean an F for that course. Given IWU's lock-step sequence and progression rules, that can delay everything after it. Put workshop dates on your calendar as soon as they are published and share them with your preceptor.
Is IWU's BSN-to-DNP the same as its post-master's DNP?
No. The BSN-to-DNP includes full FNP (or PMHNP) preparation plus the DNP project. The post-master's DNP in Systems Leadership is for nurses who already hold a master's degree and lets up to 500 master's-level clinical hours count toward its 1,000; the Systems Leadership DNP page covers it.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-24
We check these pages against IWU's own catalog and program pages. IWU's NP Clinical Guidelines, your syllabus and your program faculty have the final word.
IWU says you secure the site and preceptor. We make that the easy part.
Tell us your IWU program, your community and when your next practicum course starts. We find preceptors who fit the course and prepare everything IWU vets before it approves them.
- Preceptors matched to the course: primary care across the lifespan for the
PYCcourses, psychiatric care for PMHNP, leaders for HSL - Credentials, license and site details ready for IWU's review and Medatrax
- In your own community, in Indiana or wherever you live and hold your RN license
Start your placement plan
Program, city and start date is all we need to begin.